Jump to content













Photo
- - - - -

Azure Blob Storage… Recycle Bin!!!!!!!

  Posted by Pantelis Apostolidis , in Azure 07 May 2018 · 39 views

azure azurerm blog storage

Azure Blob Storage… Recycle Bin!!!!!!!
Remember all that red alerts when comes to deleting blobs? Ah, forget them! Microsoft Azure brought the Windows Recycle Bin to Azure and named it Soft delete.

The soft delete feature basically is similar to the Windows recycle bin. Deleting a file from the Windows explorer, the Operating System instead of actually removing the file it moves it to the recycle bin. The file stays there and it can be undeleted at any time. The soft delete feature in Microsoft Azure does the same thing for blob storage. When data is deleted or overwritten, the data is not actually gone. Instead, the data is soft deleted, thereby making it recoverable if necessary.

It’s not enabled by default, but it’s very easy to enable it. Go to the Storage Account, scroll down to the Blob Service and select “Soft delete”. Select the Retention policy and Save, that’s all!

Posted Image

Let’s delete and test. Browse a container and click the “Show delete blobs”. The current blob will show as active.

Posted Image

deleting the blob it will change the status to “deleted”

Posted Image

Click the three little dots and you can undelete, the blob, in Azure!!!

Posted Image

Active again!

Posted Image

Be careful, if you delete the whole container, the storage account or the Azure Subscription there is no return. The Soft delete feature is at blob level inside a container.

For more deltails visit the docs: https://docs.microso...lob-soft-delete